The monastery is located near the village of Kilisa, in the place where the river Iritsajur flows into Tartar.
The Karvachar region of Artsakh is rich with both historical and cultural monuments.
In this region, among mountains and canyons, flows the largest river of Artsakh - the Tartar, the right stream of the Kura river. Its banks are covered with dense forests and green meadows. This is truly a picturesque land. From ancient times, people near the coast have created many churches and monasteries and have been able to masterfully fit their works into the natural landscape without disrupting the harmony of the world. Unfortunately, many monuments have not survived to this day, as a result of targeted destruction already in the XX century.
One of the prominent monuments of this region is the monastery complex of the Holy Mother of God, also known as KusanatsAnapat, dated XII-XVII centuries. The monastery is located near the village of Kilisa, in the place where the river Iritsajur flows into Tartar. The earliest buildings date back to the 12th century- these are two small churches; portico and narthex. The constructions are built of uncouth stone, fastened with mortar, and overlaid with a plaster. The oldest church dates back to 1174, as evidenced by a six-line engraved inscription on a concrete layer on the tympanum, on the west side. At a distance of 12-13 m are later buildings. The most remarkable is the three-nave arched church, with eight windows built in 1178 by the daughter of Prince Kiurike. There is also a chapel built in XII-XIII centuries.
In addition to religious buildings, the complex also includes farm buildings - an oil mill, refectory, stand-alone khachkars, and lapidary inscriptions that convey an idea of everyday medieval life.
Unfortunately, in the 80s of the XX century, as a result of political events, a large number of lithographic inscriptions of the XII-XIII centuries was deliberately destroyed. It was done to prove the affiliation of this complex to the so-called "Albanian" culture.