• Facebook
  • Twitter
  • Youtube
  • VKonkatke
  • Instagram
  • Odnoklassniki

State system

Official name: Republic of Artsakh (RMK).

Capital: Stepanakert with the living population  about 55 000.

Largest city: Stepanakert. Number of regions: 7. Number of villages: 382. Number of communities: 264.

Official Language: Armenian.

Population: 146.1 thousand people (2016). Number of urban population: 82,7 thousand people. Number of rural population: 63,4 thousand people (2016).

Ethnic groups: 99 % Armenians (40 % live in urban settlement), 1%  Russians, Ukrainians, Greeks, Georgians and others.

Territory (Area): According to the Republic of Artsakh Constitution, the area of the land is 11.432 sq. km (12 people/ sq. km) and the cease-fire agreement between Artsakh and Azerbaijan is valid from 12th May, 1994.  Nowadays, Shahoumyan, some parts of Martakert and Martouni regions are occupied by Azerbaijan.

Administrative Division: The Republic of Artsakh consists of 8 administrative regions: Kashatagh, Martakert, Shahoumyan, Askeran, Martouni, Hadrout, Shoushi and the capital Stepanakert. There are 9 cities.

Governmental and Administrative Bodies: According to the Constitution of the Republic of Artsakh accepted in 2017, the head of state is the President, who is elected by the registered citizens’ direct vote for a five-year term. No person shall be elected to the office of the President more than twice. The President is the Supreme Commander-in-chief and has the highest executive authority in the Republic of Artsakh. He appoints the Prime Minister, oversees the adherence to the Constitution, ensures the normal functioning of the legislative, executive and judicial bodies. The Presidential System of Government was introduced in Artsakh in February 2017.

The highest legislative and representative body of the Republic is the National Assembly. Laws and resolutions of the National Assembly, with the exception of cases stipulated by the Constitution, shall be passed by the majority vote of the participating members but no less than the two-fifth of total number of members. The members of the Parliament are also elected for a five - year term. The chairman of the National Assembly is elected by the members of Parliament in the closed election.  

The executive body in the AR is the Government headed by the Prime Minister. The Government consists of twelve other ministries:

Ministry of Economy and industrial infrastructures; Ministry of Nature Conservancy and Nature Resources; Ministry of Agriculture; Ministry of Culture, Youth Affairs and Tourism; Ministry of Defence; Ministry of Education Science and Sport; Ministry of Finance; Ministry of Foreign Affairs; Ministry of Healthcare; Ministry of Justice; Ministry of labour, social affairs and resettlement; Ministry of Urban Planning.

Here are four more state bodies besides above-mentioned one:

National Security Service; AR Police; State Service of Emergency Situations.

The Judicial System: The Judicial system of the Artsakh Republic is composed of the first instance court of general jurisdiction, the courts of appeal, and the Supreme Court as well as specialized courts as stipulated by law.


Natinal Symbology

National Flag of Artsakh is a rectangular colour cloth with three equal horizontal stripes of red, blue and orange colours (from the top to the bottom). From both edges of the right side of the colour cloth a white five-toothed rug pattern which starts in the corner and unites at the one third of the flag. The red colour symbolizes the ongoing struggle of the Armenian people for existence, Christianity, Independence and Freedom. The blue colour symbolizes the will of the Armenian people to live in peace. The orange colour symbolizes creative power and diligence of the Armenian people. The ratio of the national flag is 1:2 (60X120 cm).





The National Emblem depicts an eagle with wide-opened wings and with sun rays emerging from it. The eagle is crowned by the Artashesid's Dynasty crown. The monument "We Are Our Mountains" is represented in the center against the background of the National Flag and Big Kirs mountain. Beneath, the cluster of grapes, mulberries and wheatear are in the claws of the eagle.  There is an inscription in Armenian "Artsakh Republic - Artsakh" on the topmost section of the National Emblem.





The National Anthem


The National Anthem is the symbol of independent statehood of the Republic of Artsakh. The National Anthem was adopted by the Supreme Council of the Nagorno Karabagh Republic on November 17, 1992. The author of the Artsakh Anthem's lyrics  is Vardan Hakobyan, the author of the music is Armen Nasibyan.